63 York Catholic Schools received EcoSchools certification in 2014

The York Catholic District School Board congratulated the 63 schools that received EcoSchools Certification for the 2013-2014 school year at a Board meeting in November. There was an increase of five certified schools over the previous year, demonstrating the growing popularity of the environmentally-friendly program.

EcoSchools is an environmental education and certification program, for Grades K-12, that help school communities develop ecological literacy and environmental practices to become environmentally responsible citizens and reduce the environmental footprint of schools. Schools must meet certain environmental and social criteria in order to become EcoSchool certified.

This year, 28 schools achieved gold certification, 24 schools achieved silver certification, and 10 schools achieved bronze certification. St Theresa of Lisieux CHS became the first YCDSB school to be certified at the new platinum level.

Platinum certifications were first introduced in the 2013-14 school year and require that a school be certified for at least five years with no more than a one year gap, be certified at the gold level for at least three of those previous five years; and be certified gold in the year prior to the Platinum application.

Congratulations to the 2013-14 Certified EcoSchools.

Schools marked with an (R) were recertified from last year.

Platinum Certification

  • St. Theresa of Lisieux CHS

Gold Certification

  • Corpus Christi (R)
  • Divine Mercy
  • Father Frederick McGinn (R)
  • Father Henri Nouwen (R)
  • Holy Spirit (R)
  • Our Lady of Hope (R)
  • Our Lady of the Annunciation (R)
  • Prince of Peace (R)
  • Sacred Heart CHS (R)
  • Sir Richard W. Scott (R)
  • St. Agnes of Assisi (R)
  • St. Augustine CHS (R)
  • St. Benedict
  • St. Brigid
  • St. Charles Garnier (R)
  • St. Edward (R)
  • St. Elizabeth CHS
  • St. Emily (R)
  • St. Gabriel the Archangel (R)
  • St. John XXII (R)
  • St. Joseph, Aurora (R)
  • St. Joseph, RH (R)
  • St. Julia Billiart (R)
  • St. Justin Martyr (R)
  • St. Mark (R)
  • St. Mary of the Angels
  • St. Robert CHS (R)
  • St. Vincent de Paul (R)

Silver Certification

  • Blessed Trinity (R)
  • Holy Family (R)
  • Holy Jubilee
  • Holy Name (R)
  • Our Lady of Fatima
  • St. Angela Merici (R)
  • St. Brendan (R)
  • St. Cecilia (R)
  • St. Clare (R)
  • St. Francix Xavier (R)
  • St. Gregory the Great (R)
  • St. James (R)
  • St. Jean de Brebeuf CHS (R)
  • St. Jerome (R)
  • St. John Chrysostom (R)
  • St. Joseph, Markham (R)
  • St. Margaret Mary (R)
  • St. Maximilian Kolbe CHS (R)
  • St. Monica
  • St. Nicholas
  • St. Padre Pio (R)
  • St. Patrick, Markham (R)
  • St. Peter (R)
  • St. Veronica (R)

Bronze Certification

  • Father John Kelly
  • Good Shepard (R)
  • Notre Dame (R)
  • San Lorenzo Ruiz
  • St. David (R)
  • St. Francis of Assisi
  • St. Joan of Arc CHS
  • St. Kateri Tekakwitha (R)
  • St. Rene Goupil/St. Luke (R)
  • St. Stephen (R)