Human Rights, Equity Diversity and Inclusion, Advisory Committee (HEDIAC)

“Nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more; but they shall all sit under their own vines and under their own fig trees, and no one shall make them afraid; for the mouth of the Lord of hosts has spoken.” Micah 4:4

Equity at YCDSB is a core value that calls us to recognize that all those we serve in our community are created in the image of God.

Each person brings a gift to our schools, our Board and the broader community. By acknowledging this, we invite a common sense of purpose and belonging that links us in our humanity and faith. We honour the diversity and complexity that underlie the essential personhood of each human being.

graphic depicting the HEDIAC committee in the centre of the eight pillarsThe Nine Pillars

The Human Rights, Equity Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee (HEDIAC) is comprised of nine pillars, each of which has a steering committee to advance equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the organization.

Each “pillar”/steering committee includes members from diverse social identities from the stakeholder groups listed below. The composition of this Steering committee also includes (where necessary) an individual(s) (outside of those suggested below) with expertise and experience that will enhance/support the work of each pillar. The composition of these committees will include:

  • Senior Administrators
  • School Administrators
  • Teaching Staff
  • Support Staff
  • Students
  • YCDSB Parent representatives (As necessary or appropriate)

HEDIAC Members

Chair: Nalini Jugnundan

Ex-Officio: Mary Battista

Pillar Lead / Supporting Superintendent
2SLGBTQ+ Nick Galatianos / Jennifer Sarna
Accessibility/Accommodation Teresa Liggett / Michael Gray
Anti-Black Racism (ABR) Siobhan Wright / Opiyo Oloya
Cultural/Racial Identity Joel Chiusti / Anthony Arcadi
Culturally Responsive and Relevant Pedagogy Daniel La Gamba / Mary Battista
Indigenous Education Shannon Ulgiati / Laura Sawicky
Mental Health Michelle Prinzo / Marianne Fedrigoni
Religion Michael Way-Skinner & Kelly Pickard-Lefterys / Eugene Pivato
Special Education Diane Lood / Diana Candido


Trustee Representation
Maria Marchese – Chair of the Board
Mariann Gordon
Council of Presidents
  • OECTA: Michael Totten
  • CUPE 1571: Michael Saliba
  • CUPE 2331: Mary Di Federico
  • OSSTF: Sherry-Ann Bowen-Gordon
  • Elementary PVP: Brent Matthews
  • Secondary PVP: Iolanda Faraone
Anthony Yeung
Information Technology
Darlene Clapham
International Students
Iolanda Faraone
Nancy Di Nardo
Student Success
Lou Paonessa
Marc Mercanti