Father Michael McGivney welcomes 54 new Canadian citizens from 18 countries at citizenship ceremony

On Dec. 3, 2019, 54 new Canadians from 18 countries, took their Oath of Citizenship at an Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s citizenship ceremony. The event was hosted by students and staff at Father Michael McGivney Catholic Academy who went above and beyond make this an unforgettable experience for their guests.

“Everyone was so excited to welcome these new Canadians into our school. Our students and staff immediately volunteered to help make this special occasion a memorable one for the new members of our Canadian family,” said Joel Chiutsi, Principal at Father Michael McGivney. “They provided support by greeting our guests, directing them at the parking lot, setting up the cafeteria and stood witness to this important addition to our Canadian history.”

The ceremony was presided over by Citizenship Judge Rodney Simmons, who was a vice-principal at the school before he was appointed in May 2018.

“I was so delighted to return to Father Michael McGivney to see my former colleagues and students. It’s truly a magical place where students, custodians, educators, administrative staff and community members work together to create a safe, welcoming and empowering community,” said Judge Simmons. “My message to students and our new Canadians is this: know that you are valued. We are all better because you are here. Always try to be the best that you can be. Remember that you are blessed and give back to your community.”

The new Canadian citizens were also greeted by platform guests from the York Catholic District School Board, including Chair of the Board Dominic Mazzotta, School Board Trustee James Ecker, Director of Education Ab Falconi and Superintendent of Education, Jennifer Sarna; all of whom helped to present certificates, Canadian pins and flags.

Below is a list of the 18 countries represented at the citizenship ceremony:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Cuba
  • France
  • India
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Malaysia
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Romania
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

[useyourdrive dir=”12gaBQn_38a9LQjFByTzCtCEpYFoP1DtZ” mode=”gallery” viewrole=”administrator|author|contributor|editor|subscriber|guest” downloadrole=”all”]

For more school news and updates, follow @FMMtweets on Twitter.